skip navigation
Nightmare Alley

Nightmare Alley(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Nightmare Alley An ambitious carnival worker... MORE > $14.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • to tell the truth

    • don letta
    • 5/6/19

    This relatively unknown film should be heralded as the only one to tell it like it is. From the powerful to the lowliest deadbeat...we're all hypocrites... each of us holding on to that bit of fantasy that gets us through another day... refusing to see what is real, choosing instead to foliow the flock..blindly into the abyss.Power should have been elevated to king of Hollywood for his vision and courage, but of course his effort was regarded as anti-establishment, and the film died, taking with it its powerful themes. Pity.

  • Best Tyrone Power

    • Wanda
    • 5/5/19

    The themes are dark and depressing and not to my liking, but Tyrone Power is mesmerizing in his finesse. From subtle facial nuances to physicality, Tyrone's performance is brilliant throughout the entire film. I agree with other reviewers that TP was worthy of least an Academy Award nomination for this. (On another note-the most handsome man ever.)

  • Nightmare Alley

    • Chris Ulan
    • 5/5/19

    I enjoyed all of it. It was captivating, the acting was great, as was the photography. Despite what Eddie said. The ending was plausible and was satisfying. It is a film that one wants to see again. This was my first time and I think I would enjoy seeing some details again. Thanks for letting us see it!

  • A Nightmare I Don't Want to Wake From

    • Peter Pullman
    • 1/28/19

    The salient virtues have been well articulated by the other reviewers.But there are subtle things going on in this masterpiece. For one, the notion of mentalism, or mind reading. It is properly exposed in the course of the drama as fraudulent, about as phony as are the other carnival acts.But isn't mind reading what we all do, much of the time? Think about your relationships - with partner, kids, authority figures (teacher, boss), neighbors, . . . . Don't you, interacting with them or in repose, try to anticipate what they will say, how they will react to what you've said to them?We all anticipate. It informs, it pre-exists in the actions that we decide to take. #Nightmare Alley# makes of it an important element in the plot, as Stanton acts in his deviousness from the arrogance that he can anticipate the consequences of what he does. There's also the theme of memory, of how it can be manipulated by others or how we allow it to play tricks on us. At first, Stanton is impressed with the psychiatrist's use of phonograph records, which give her the power to repeat to her analysands what they've said in previous sessions. It's another illusion of the power of mind reading.Stanton is, in one scene, impressed by this carny trick. But later, it's used against him. In one of the most powerful moments in the film, he doubts his own memory and, so, tries to blot out his own voice - the one on record or in his mind. He covers his ears, clearly in anguish.Alcoholism is another theme, one of almost infinite complexity, that the film manages to touch on. It kills Pete, making Stanton a de facto accessory. But he capitalizes on Pete's trick, that of the story of the dog, as it is so effective. Later, as alcohol takes hold of him, he uses the story again, this time to trick the other drunks. He also talks of the genie-like magic inside the bottle.There's no end to his attempts at mind reading, nor to the film's suggestiveness of the darker areas of the mind.

  • Nightmare Alley

    • Laurie Brown
    • 11/22/15

    This one is a real gem that probably deserves more notoriety than it has received. A nice change of pace from the usual noir themes of private eyes, femme fatales and gangsters. Tyrone Power is terrific as a study in self destruction. I was also impressed with Coleen Gray, who I'd never heard of, not only beautiful but touching as Power's wife, accomplice and conscience. The ending whimps out in the final moment as Power is offered a shot at redemption when clearly, the story cried out for a grim black finale, but is probably the result of the studio and the era more than anything. Well worth a watch.

  • Lee Garmes cinematography

    • el debbo
    • 9/1/14

    Fantastic, riveting movie, Tyrone's best in my opinion, and what wonderful supporting actors. Even if you are not captivated by this tale, the cinematography makes the whole adventure worthwhile. Some of the scenes are hauntingly beautiful, as they are in "Young Widow", another Garmes film. I kept looking at Coleen Gray, wondering where I'd seen her unusual brand of beauty before--- of course, opposite John Payne in "K.C. Confidential". Joan Blondell can do anything at all, and do it well. Helen Walker seems kind of wooden in some movies but she's just right in this one.I see Zanuck as executive producer and ye olde Georgie Jessel as producer! Will wonders never cease.

  • Tyrone Power considers his best

    • Michael Shea
    • 6/26/14

    Tyrone Power considered Nightmare Alley his best acting movie. It was certainly different in many ways. It is the only movie I ever saw the key actor play a Mentalist. I thought Joan Blondell was at her best. I wish Power and Blondell would have done more movies together. I always thought Tyrone Power's acting was far better in 20th Century dramas and light comedy than his costume dramas that he was famous for.

  • Top Notch Noir Drama

    • AJ
    • 4/16/14

    This movie is terrifically engrossing. From start to finish, the central chacter of Stanton Carlisle keeps playing with everyone he meets. He 's a cad who steps on everyone. Tyrone Power turns in a very complex and intense performance, for which he should have been at least nominated for an Academy Award. His con artist portrayal is so well done that, if never seen before, should come as a surprise to anyone who questions the broad range Power was capable of. While the story is pretty gloomy, the performances are uniformly top notch. IMO, this is a great example of noir genre cinema and I 'd like to see it aired more frequently.

  • Power's anti type cast film

    • denscul
    • 1/28/14

    I had never seen his film until recently. Not a typical Power film, many of which used his pretty boy looks to draw the females into the theaters. Its no wonder this film hid from his more famous roles. I understand why he himself considered this one of his finest roles as an actor. It tops his effort in the Razors Edge, and proves that a lot of Actors like Errol Flynn, and Ron Reagan, if allowed to act in good films, can prove they are actors, and not just pretty faces. Make no mistakes, this film has a raw edge to it, and leaves a bitter sweet taste when it finishes. For anyone who wanted to run away with a carnival, and didn't, it should please them they didn't.

  • Mindbendingly Good

    • dcb
    • 8/17/13

    Tyrone Power 's extraordinary portrayal of a no good user shows a different side to this resourceful actor. Power and Joan Blondel made a very sexy, interesting pairing. An excellent story that is unusual and intense. A must see.

  • Rare Carny Noir

    • Dee2
    • 8/8/13

    Power gives a dynamic and chilling performance, some say his best, pushing the envelope of matinee idol charm to reveal the sideshow huckster who reaches too high. A great steamy atmosphere with superior pebrformances by Coleen Gray and the wonderful Joan Blondell. Its Power's show though and he is mesmerising. A rare example of carny -themed noir, this is a terrific beautifully produced movie that should be seen more often as it was somehow out of circulattion for many years.

  • Tyrone Powers best role

    • mac
    • 8/26/12

    Powers fought with Darryl Zanuck to have this movie made. One of the best of all the Film Noirs ever made, the story of the Carnival, the Geek and a man's fall from the heights of hyprocrisy is brilliant. Power is terrific and proves what a fine actor he could have been given the proper roles. The story, from a book by William Lindsey Gresham should be re-made today.

    • 7/4/12

  • The Power Of Noir!

    • Steve S.
    • 8/28/09

    It (he) got me!Coleen Gray look's as lovely as ever too!

  • dvd's I would like to buy

    • joseph distefano
    • 3/27/07

    rififi director jules dassin captain from castile with tyrone powers& mask of demitrus with sydney greenstreet nightmare alley is a good film,

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.